Australia National Cricket Team Schedule and Matches

The Australia national cricket team is the joint oldest team in Test cricket history, having played in the first ever Test match in 1877.

TheAustralian men’s national cricket teamrepresentsAustraliaininternational cricket. As one of the oldest teams in Test cricket history, playing in thefirst ever Test matchin 1877,the team also plays One-Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) cricket, participating in both the first ODI, againstEnglandin the 1970–71 seasonand the first T20I, againstNew Zealandin the 2004–05 season,winning both games. The team draws its players from teams playing in the Australian domestic competitions – theSheffield Shield, theAustralian domestic limited-overs cricket tournamentand theBig Bash League.




Australia nation Cricket team in Test

The Australia nation cricket team has played 827 Test matches, winning 390, losing 224, drawing 211 and tying 2.As of November 2019, Australia is ranked fifth in theICC Test Championshipon 99 rating points.Australia is the most successful team in Test cricket history, in terms of overall wins, win-loss ratio and wins percentage.

Australia nation Cricket team in ODI

The Australia nation cricket team has played 942 ODI matches, winning 573, losing 326, tying 9 and with 34 ending in a no-result.As of July 2019, Australia is ranked third in theICC ODI Championshipon 113 rating points,though have been ranked first for 141 of 185 months since its introduction in 2002. Australia is the most successful ODI team in history, winning more than 60 per cent of their matches. Australia have made a record sevenWorld Cupfinal appearances (1975,1987,1996,1999,2003,2007and2015) and have won the World Cup a record five times: 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. Australia is the first team to appear in four consecutive World Cup finals (1996, 1999, 2003 and 2007), surpassing the old record of three consecutive World Cup appearances by theWest Indies(1975,1979and1983) and the first team to win 3 consecutive World Cups (1999, 2003 and 2007). The team was undefeated in 34 consecutive World Cup matches until 19 March at the 2011 Cricket World Cup wherePakistanbeat them by 4 wickets.It is also the second team to win a World Cup (2015) on home soil, afterIndia(2011). Australia have also won theICC Champions Trophytwice (2006and2009) making them the first and the only team to become back to back winners in the Champions Trophy tournaments.

Australia nation Cricket team in Twenty20

The Australia national cricket team has played 122 Twenty20 International matches, winning 65, losing 52, tying 2 and with 3 ending in a no-result.As of August 2019, Australia is ranked fifth in theICC T20I Championshipon 261 rating points.Additionally, the team made the final of the2010 ICC World Twenty20, in which they lost to England.

On 12 January 2019, Australia won the first ODIagainst Indiaat theSydney Cricket Groundby 34 runs, to record their 1,000th win in international cricket.

Australian cricket team

The Australian cricket team participated in thefirst Test matchat theMCGin 1877, defeating an English team by 45 runs, withCharles Bannermanmaking the first Test century, a score of 165retired hurt. Test cricket, which only occurred between Australia and England at the time, was limited by the long distance between the two countries, which would take several months by sea. Despite Australia’s much smaller population, the team was very competitive in early games, producing stars such asJack Blackham,Billy Murdoch,Fred “The Demon” Spofforth,George Bonnor,Percy McDonnell,George GiffenandCharles “The Terror” Turner. Most cricketers at the time were either fromNew South WalesorVictoria, with the notable exception of George Giffen, the starSouth Australianall-rounder.

Key Series